Vacationing with the ‘Rents

So I spent the last week on a Alaskan Cruise with the *Momanger and *G-Dubs. Despite what the Momanager thinks I had a great time, granted there were some bouts of boredom…a direct result of my decision to unplug from the internets and not participate in Cruise Ship activities as a way of mentally and physically *prepping for b-school which starts in 2weeks, more on that later…But seriously I had a fun and relaxing time: I got more sleep in the last 7 days than I’ve gotten in the last 4weeks (can you say *OP), saw some of North America’s most breathtaking landscapes (Tracy Arm’s Fjord, Mendenhall Glacier, British Columbia’s Butchart Gardens), read 2.25 books (Still making my way through “Deluxe”), 5 magazines *, and laughed really really hard with the Momanager and G-Dubs. 
 
I won’t rehash all the funny moments from our trip, I’ll just say that the laughter was a result of lots of teasing (gotta be able to laugh at yourself in this family…no one is safe), sharing and creating of memories, and awesome conversations. One of my favorite things on this planet is sitting and talking with my parents. I learn so much about them and and about myself from our chats. When I hear my mom talk about her hard childhood, and wanting more for herself and for her family, I know where I get my ambition from. When G-Dubs says that his family is the most important thing to him, I don’t have to look hard for evidence of that, and make sure that as I build my life I place it at the top of my priorities as well.
 
With that being said/written I thoroughly enjoyed my vacay with M &G and I’m glad to be moving closer to them so our hangouts can be more frequent.
 
*Momanager- my Mom’s self-selected nickname…it suits her well, trust me.
*G-Dubs- Dad
*Magazines- I read them like they’re books…cover to cover. Fact. Faves include Marie Claire, Glamour, and Instyle.
*Prepping for b-school- someone in admissions loved me and I got into NYU Stern. I start on July 9th (summer session). I had a little taste of what b-school would be like when I went to OP in Minneapolis last week. It tasted like no sleep, tons of networking/interviewing, redbull, and late night shenanigans with amazing people. As a result I’ve decided that the best way to prepare for the next two years is to exert as little energy as possible between now and July 9th. 
*OP- Is a 5 day conference hosted by the Consortium, for students starting their MBA in the fall. It was a wonderful opportunity. I got to meet some fellow Sternies*, meet some other MBA students at other schools, ran into some old friends, make new ones, network and interview for summer internships for next year. Learn more about the Consortium here: http://www.cgsm.org/about/index.asp
*Sternies: nickname for students matriculating at NYU Stern
 

Leave a comment