Talking Marriage with the ‘Rents

Earlier I posted about how much I enjoy talking with my parents. Well 8 Days on a ship meant we covered alot of topics, but one that kept coming up was Marriage. I’m 26, single, and Mormon–M&G aren’t concerned, yet, but they want to make sure I’m headed down the right path lol. Discussions* included:

-Why I’m not married…G-Dubs thinks its got something to do my being too picky and *my aversion to wearing perfume. Momanager agrees with all of the above but adds my having too many male friends and my inability to look polished at all times to the list.

-Who I should marry…I feel like if a boy is referenced at least 3xs in the course of my rehashing a story, my mother feels that she must inquire if there is any potential with that individual, and if there isn’t, why not…

-Who I should have married…see above.

-What I should be looking for…G says someone you love and can have honest conversations with, M just points to G.

-Why they’re glad I’m not married…(wasn’t expecting that one huh?) But even though they’d love to see me in white, they are super proud that I have worn blue(Go Wellesley),  gray (suits for corporate America), and now Purple (holla atchya girl Stern). To be clear its not that they don’t think one can accomplish the above while being married, they just feel that my singledom allows me a certain degree of freedom  in how I  shape my life, that I wouldn’t have if I was married.

-What I should learn from their marriage…that it takes alot of work and sacrifice to make a marriage work and as a result its not something I should rush into.

-Its absolutely fine if I never get married…this is why I love them. In a culture where marriage is seen as the ideal, M&G have always taught me that there are other ways to live a happy and fulfilling life.

Despite their harassment I walked away from the ship completely secure in my singledom, fully aware that these conversations about marriage are a direct result of my parents love and wanting the best for me, and really really grateful that I have siblings to deflect some of their attention.

*M&G: Momanager & G-Dubs aka Mom and Dad. See earlier post

*Discussions: let me paint the picture- M&G talking, while I sit there shaking my head, while people overhearing these conversations chuckle.

*My aversion to perfume: lets just say years of my Mom drowning me perfume before every outing coupled with the fact that my nose tends to fixate on the alcohol in perfume makes me less inclined to wear it very often. Don’t worry Chanel’s Chance is aiding me in my recovery.

One thought on “Talking Marriage with the ‘Rents

Leave a comment